Finalists Named for Arizona’s Cox Conserves Heroes Program, Public Asked to Vote

January 23, 2012 – Finalists Named for Arizona’s Cox Conserves Heroes Program, Public Asked to Vote
Program to donate $15,000 to local environmental nonprofits

Cox Communications, in partnership with The Trust for Public Land (TPL),  today announced finalists for Arizona’s Cox Conserves Heroes program. A total of $15,000 will be donated to local environmental nonprofits on behalf of the finalists.

By being a finalist, each individual has secured a $2,500 donation for his or her nonprofit of choice. The finalists are now competing for an additional $7,500 – bringing the total donation on behalf of the winner to $10,000. The winner will be chosen through an online public vote. The public is being asked to vote now through February 13.

To vote, visit

Arizona’s Cox Conserves Heroes finalists (environmental nonprofit of choice):
• Jane Rau (McDowell Sonoran Conservancy)
• Maxine Lakin (Phoenix Mountains Preservation)
• Melinda Gulick (McDowell Sonoran Conservancy)

Arizona’s Cox Conserves Hero will be announced in late February. The finalists were nominated by the public and then selected by a judging circle, including:
• Chair of Arizona’s House Energy, Natural Resources and Environment Committee Amanda Reeve
• Mesa City Councilman Dave Richins
• The Nature Conservancy’s Cheryl Lombard
• The Trust for Public Land’s Chris Byrne
• Arizona Department of Environmental Quality, Legislative Director and Avondale City Councilman Jim Buster

For more information, visit or find us on Facebook.
Social Media: #CoxConservesHeroes and #CoxConservesHero

Media Contacts:
Andrea Katsenes, Cox Communications, 623-328-3272,
Elizabeth Olmstead, Cox Enterprises, 678-645-0762,
Kristen Anderson, The Trust for Public Land, 415-495-4014,

Jill Hegardt

Vice President

Let’s do great things together.

Get in Touch